mark chambers Avatar
mark chambers
24/12/2020 - Google

Great night away for the kids... the little train journey around the grounds in the darkness, and illuminations everywhere was brilliant

SarahApple17 Avatar
SarahApple17
5 star rating
22/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa Express By FAR the best Santa experience we have visited. Every part is so well planned and feels so professional. From the train to the grotto to the outdoor entertainment and puppet show. My sons loved every bit of it. We ate at the restaurant and the food was so easy to order and quick. All round a 5* experience.

Oonzy Avatar
Oonzy
5 star rating
17/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa Express 2020 I visited the Santa Express on 12/12/2021 with my Mum and my 4 yo son and I could not rate this experience highly enough.

My son had the best time and he was so excited to meet santa for the first year he wasnt afraid. The Photos turned out beautiful and he loved his present. The sights and decorations all along the train ride were brilliant and had so much to look at on our journey. The elves were absolutely brilliant and so upbeat and happy despite the cold.

They had measures in place for social distancing and individual compartments in the train etc so felt at ease. They had elves cleaning constantly in all areas.

Unfortunately my mum had a bad fall down some steps and the staff at Oakfield park were excellent. They helped my mum up and escorted her back to the train whilst the elves entertained my son so he wasn't scared. They took every precaution to make sure she wasn't injured and checked her over in their medical room.

Although this threatened to ruin our night the staff were so kind and friendly and I was put at ease that my mum was okay and that the experience wasnt tainted for my son as we had looked forward to it so much.

Defo put me in the christmas spirit

Thanks Oakfield Park

RoseMMoore Avatar
RoseMMoore
5 star rating
15/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa express What an experience!!! Having never been to Oakfield Park before, I was a little apprehensive considering we're in the throws of a pandemic! However my worries soon disappeared. Strict covid guidelines were in place right from entry point e.g. temp checks, face masks, social distancing, cleaning in progress throughout. It really was a magical experience, not just for my granddaughter but for all the family. From Mrs. Clause who was an absolute gem with her two little puppet buddies, the elves who were fabulous, friendly and full of energy, the train ride with all the beautiful lights and lots to see along the way, Santa's grotto was beautiful and kids got to play games with the elves, while maintaining social distancing. I could go on and on really. I look forward to going back next year again but will certainly visit these beautiful grounds throughout the year.
Huge congrats to all involved for putting a wonderful experience together in a year where it would have been easier to keep the doors closed. Oakfield Park is a real treasure.

Rap3050 Avatar
Rap3050
1 star rating
14/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa train The Santa express train isn't bad but is over priced. Been to cheaper Santa trains and they are every bit as good. The elves will single you out if you don't dance or sing then make you do something Infront of the crowd to embarrass you. Don't agree with this as they don't know what illness someone has and the reason why some isn't singing or dancing. I suffer anxiety and went home feeling very upset about the experience. Will not be back.

James B Avatar
James B
5 star rating
14/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Exceptional Santa Express Experience 2020 The Santa Express is absolutely fantastic this year (2020). My family and I attend the Santa express every year, and I must say this year was the best to date. All of the staff at Oakfield park have completely outdone themselves. They were exceptional, especially considering the struggles and challenges everyone is facing this year. We arrived two hours before our train was due to depart. We all had our temperature checked before being granted entry to the park, this gave us all peace of mind. We then enjoyed a delicious complementary hot chocolate, followed by an amazing meal in Buffers restaurant. We then went in and met Mrs. Claus, who did some stand up comedy for us and spent quite a while talking to our daughter. She was fabulous and made our little girl feel very special. She then introduced us to her friends Peagreen and Omelette. ( Puppet show). The puppet show was hilarious. I could easily tell that a lot of work has gone into this routine. We then went to the train station to catch our train to Santa's grotto. There we met three of the most joyful/energetic Elves (Choo Choo, Peeps and Hero) who delivered Elf and safety to us before showing us to our carriage and entertained us as we were waiting to depart. The Elves at the grotto kept us very entertained until we met Santa. The elves were extremely interactive while maintaining social distancing regulations. Santa was extremely happy to meet our daughter again and have a talk with her from a safe distance. The photographers then took some amazing professional photos for us which we received in a beautiful Oakfield Park mount. The photographer himself was wonderful and a true asset to the team. We could have spent hours just playing with the Elves on location and there were some excellent games set out at a safe social distance for us to play among our family at the grotto too. It is important to note that the whole event maintained excellent Covid-19 regulations, in such a way that we were able to put it all to the back of our minds and just enjoy the event. We then caught the train back to the train station which was beautiful. The lights were truly spectacular and all of the installations along the way such as Mrs. Claus's washing line, a gingerbread house and Extensive Whoville and Grinch installation were all exceptional and a really nice touch to the already picturesque journey. We took part in the reindeer games to end off our night which were very well laid out and a lot of fun for the whole family. By far the best experience yet at Oakfield Park. Compliments and a huge thank you to Management/head Elves, Mr. and Mrs. Clause, the Elves, Pea Green and Omelette, Buffers Staff and all of the other people involved this year. You have all come together and created a special Christmas experience . You should all be very proud. Thank you. James

anto reilly Avatar
anto reilly
08/12/2020 - Google

lovely place great train. deadly santa .staff are so nice .love the place โค

7cohara Avatar
7cohara
06/12/2020 - Google

Wonderful family day out and every effort had been made to make the day as safe as possible for all involved. Would highly recommend!

PCampDonegal Avatar
PCampDonegal
5 star rating
04/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful place We brought our 6 and 7 year old to Oakfield park to see santa and it was a fantastic experience for all of us. From the decorations to the energetic elves playing games with the kids to the breathtaking train ride and although we had a social distance visit with santa in a mask it didn't dissapoint. Delicious food from the Buffer restaurant afterwards, takeaway only but outdoor heated area provided with a puppetshow from Mrs Claus. Bitter cold so wrap up well and enjoy.

Mariana McCool Avatar
Mariana McCool
23/09/2020 - Google

We got a beautiful day with the weather and this added to a lovely afternoon spent at Oakfield Park. Took the train and ate at Buffers which was very nice. I also took some nice pictures

2020vision Avatar
2020vision
5 star rating
02/09/2020 - TripAdvisor

Superb!! We loved this place , it is absolutely beautiful !
There's so much to see and lots of walks to enjoy .
You could very easily spend an entire day here and not be at all bored .
Lunch at Buffers was very tasty and much enjoyed , all Covid restrictions were very obviously being adhered to .
We thoroughly enjoyed our entire visit and shall most definitely return .

Norma Laird McConnell Avatar
Norma Laird McConnell
31/08/2020 - Facebook

still finding paths we havent been on, a fabulous adventure everytime for the family

Tracy Murphy Wilson Avatar
Tracy Murphy Wilson
31/08/2020 - Facebook

Beautiful family day out and a massive thank you to your very kind staff member who worked beside the trains for offering our saint bernard water through out the day, this simple but wonder gesture really was very much appreciated thank you.

Christopher Milligan Avatar
Christopher Milligan
25/08/2020 - Google

Really enjoyed our trip here, the narrow gauge railway was fantastic and the kids really loved it. The walks through the gardens and grounds were brilliant and really helped time slip by. You have to go to Buffers and try their brownies, they were AWESOME!

Sultan Khan Avatar
Sultan Khan
20/08/2020 - Google

Great for the kids. Wonderful open spaces. The playground by the entrance proved to be very popular but the train was the best part of the day. Short but ideal for young children and it allowed us to decide where to go next. The sculptures were big enough for the kids to play around and chase one another. Overall a great day out.

betsey1977 Avatar
betsey1977
5 star rating
18/08/2020 - TripAdvisor

Magical experience! We visited last week and have to say, what a gem! This place is beautiful and already have plans to revisit! From the train ride, to the relaxing walk around the beautiful gardens...everything made it the most perfect day! The kids really enjoyed the train and the adults too, taking in the breathtaking scenery of the castle and the lake, complete with swans! We had a little wait on our train, due to the staff sanitising the carriages following each trip around. We felt very safe in the grounds, as the 2 metre distance was adhered to very well, marked eloquently in places with beautiful flower pots. The kids really enjoyed the playground and the maze...it was amazing (excuse the pun!). We finished off our visit with a visit to Buffers, the on-site cafe/restaurant, which has an abundance of treats...and the burger was just delicious! This park is a credit to both management and staff. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly here. We would highly recommend Oakfield Park for a fun-filled day out. The only negative was that we had to leave!

Bryan Morgan Avatar
Bryan Morgan
12/08/2020 - Google

Genuinely one of THE BEST family orientated days out! Loved it. Easily worth every penny... And it's not even that expensive. Can't recommended it highly enough

Selena Mc Kay Avatar
Selena Mc Kay
09/08/2020 - Facebook

We went here with our family for our first day out since the pandemic and we had the best day young and old enjoyed it and Charles on the gateway in was such a pleasant and friendly fella and he was a great help and all the staff were very polite inside the park aswell great place we will be back ๐Ÿ˜Š

Dan Sheerin Avatar
Dan Sheerin
07/08/2020 - Google

The best day out our pets ever had. They loved the train journey. It had great facilities for families with young children. All of the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Definitely going back soon.

Tom Egan Avatar
Tom Egan
31/07/2020 - Google

Really lovely place to visit. Beautiful walks, very well kept, plenty to enjoy for a full day outing. Everyone there is very friendly and keen for the visitors to enjoy themselves. Was well impressed by the deep clean of the train between runs. The food in the Buffer restaurant was excellent and staff were really good. Definitely worth a visit but plan to be there for the day to get the most out of it.

IRISHHOMEBIRD Avatar
IRISHHOMEBIRD
5 star rating
30/07/2020 - TripAdvisor

Love visiting here..... The whole day was just lovely and relaxing..all of the staff from the gardeners in the top garden, the catering staff, to the train driver were just lovely and pleasant..its always well looked after and spotless...I've been before and really love it...had family from England with us this time...they thoroughly enjoyed it too...keep up the good work!! #staycation#Ireland

Diarmaid ร“ Avatar
Diarmaid ร“
5 star rating
20/07/2020 - TripAdvisor

Great place for a day out. Top class. Great day out. From the girl in the ticket booth to the staff in the restaurant and at the train they were all excellent. Just as they should be - friendly, bright and cheery. The place was lovely - immaculately kept and lovely to walk round. The train ride was fun and the maze was good craic. The food was good too and not unreasonable. The walled garden was beautiful. The only small criticism I would make was the the music being played in the restaurant area was too loud and not in keeping with the atmosphere of the place. Turn it down and change it to traditional Irish or classical. But apart from that Iโ€™d give Oatfield top marks.

Michelle Doherty-Haughey Avatar
Michelle Doherty-Haughey
06/07/2020 - Facebook

we had an absolutely fantastic day here today at Oakfield park the grounds are fantastic and there is plenty to do. will definitely be back, we also had a lovely lunch.

Donna Nelson Avatar
Donna Nelson
06/07/2020 - Facebook

Oakfield Park is beautiful with lots to explore. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made the visit more personable. Our boys (10, 7, 5) loved running around discovering, the train ride and the play park. It can often be difficult to find places to keep the children entertained but we spent 5 hours - exploring, playing, eating and exploring some more. The food at the Buffers Cafe was delicious. Look forward to returning as we decided to buy a season pass after our visit.

Catriona Mccausland Avatar
Catriona Mccausland
29/06/2020 - Facebook

We spent a very rainy day here just after lockdown and enjoyed every minute. Would recommended canโ€™t wait till the sun shines so we can get back to complete the grounds walk. Food was excellent to.

Michelle Cleal Avatar
Michelle Cleal
14/06/2020 - Facebook

we went here today for the first time. it has been our first proper family outing since our son was born and it was amazing we loved every second of it and yous had great social distancing measures in place without ruining the fell of the place. we cant wait to come back

Sylvia C Avatar
Sylvia C
5 star rating
15/02/2020 - TripAdvisor

Exceptional Valentines Dinner We went to Buffers last night for their Special Valentines Dinner. The food was exceptional. So lovely to have local produce prepared and served in a way that enhanced its flavour and goodness. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a nice relaxed evening with just the right amount of time between courses. Thank you Joseph and team. It was a really lovely evening. The best meal we have had in a long time. We look forward to more of these nights in the future

Fรญona Ni Thiarnan Avatar
Fรญona Ni Thiarnan
25/12/2019 - Facebook

Fabulous place and staff, especially the elves, magical!

Claire Devine Avatar
Claire Devine
23/12/2019 - Facebook

We had such a fabulous time on Friday night. It was a magical experience for our 4 year old, she was just amazed. A big shout out to the elves who work so hard to make it so enjoyable for the children. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We will be back next year. ๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ๐ŸŽ…๐Ÿป

Linda McGlinchey Avatar
Linda McGlinchey
22/12/2019 - Facebook

Fantastic day out a on the Santa express. The Elves were fantastic so full of life and fun. Mrs Clausโ€™s and graduation ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐ŸŽ“ Brillant. Fabulous day highly recommend to anyone. Very well organised. Thank you all at Oakfield Park. ๐ŸŽ…

Veronica Gallen Avatar
Veronica Gallen
22/12/2019 - Facebook

came here with family and friends last week and all I can say is wow!! We all loved it, and the kids had a magical time. All the elves were brilliant, especially Choo Choo who did a fantastic enthusiastic job of seeing us all off on the train from the platform! over at the Santa cabin Woody and Sprinkles entertained with games, songs, dances and the rendition on the Ukulele by Woody was fab! Santa was so good with the kids and the girls taking the photos were so kind. Have been recommending to everyone since and will be back again next year!๐ŸŽ„๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿค—

Lorraine Mc Bride Avatar
Lorraine Mc Bride
22/12/2019 - Facebook

Oakfield Park is so beautiful. It never disappoints. The Santa Express today was just so magical. Easter there is always great too. We love it!

dusty69205 Avatar
dusty69205
5 star rating
21/12/2019 - TripAdvisor

Santa experience Excellent. Well laid out, things to do for kids. Friendly elves. The train ride and Santa visit was the highlight. Good quality presents. Light displays are very good. Kids (and adults) loved it.

Marie Curran Avatar
Marie Curran
19/12/2019 - Facebook

We went to the Santa Express last night and thoroughly enjoyed every second! The weather was awful but the lovely friendly elves where full of fun and festive cheer! Santa was fantastic and the lights on the train ride where magical! Well done to everyone involved ๐Ÿ’•

Edel Slevin Avatar
Edel Slevin
18/12/2019 - Facebook

I took my 2 beauitful grandaughters and their mum's to The Santa Express it was magical I do belive... after that wonderful evening, loved it was a fantastic experience, very helpful and friendly staff. Well done everyone ...great place to eat we had a great meal very tasty ...

Kim Mcbride Avatar
Kim Mcbride
16/12/2019 - Facebook

We had a lovely night at the Santa express last night..
The elves were all absolutely fantastic and Santa was lovely .๐ŸŽ๐ŸŽ„๐Ÿ˜

Judith Mcveigh Avatar
Judith Mcveigh
16/12/2019 - Facebook

Santa Express great idea. The family all enjoyed their visit

Samantha Byrne Avatar
Samantha Byrne
16/12/2019 - Facebook

Went here for the Santa ๐ŸŽ… experience with the Jackson hotel , From start to finish it was a Magical experience and very friendly, helpful staff. The elves got everyone excited getting on the train to visit Santa ๐ŸŽ… in his castle and when we got there Rosie elve and the other elves played singing games , spin the wheel etc, while waiting to go into Santa ๐ŸŽ…, when we got into Santa , nothing was rushed he took his time talking to the children. Would highly recommend this experience adults and kids alike loved it .

Sarah Ivory Avatar
Sarah Ivory
15/12/2019 - Facebook

We took our grandchildren to see Santa at Oakfield Park, we were travelling from Birmingham in England. the children were very excited to see Santa & we were entertained by the elves who were very funny especially Rosie elf who made our experience a very memorable one!!

Roisin ร“Sullivan Avatar
Roisin ร“Sullivan
14/12/2019 - Facebook

the santa experience is fantastic and their elves are just amazing

RoyS371 Avatar
RoyS371
5 star rating
14/12/2019 - TripAdvisor

Santa express Myself and my youngest daughter visited oakfield today for the santa express train and all though I have been there before with our oulder kids today was even better..... it seems like they have really got everything right..... to start of with I made a mistake booking our tickets and phoned them up 4 days before going and without any problems I was able to change them.... once we landed the staff was welcoming and very helpful..... the train ride was brilliant..the grounds are spectacular and very much dedicated to make it for the kids.... we meet Santa and received a lovely gift which my daughter loved.... there is a photographer ther to give you the choice if you would like a photo with santa in a cardboard frame.... the return back on the train is longer and very enjoyable... once u get back there is loads to do.... buffers is a lovely restaurant which we had hot chocolate and cake... which for the two of us was only โ‚ฌ10.50 well worth it.... plus there was a tent with render games another tent which I can't remember the name off.... which had face painting.. card making and art work plus a sweetie shop..... all this is free... (apart from the sweets) which I thought was brilliant because you didn't feel as if every corner you turned someone was trying to get money out of you....whill we were there i noticed I had lost my phone so started retracing our tracks and got speeking to a young girl in the restaurant who had served us either.... chantelle was her name this young lady went out of her way to help and used her own phone to track down mine...... even to the point that after we had left the restaurant telling her I had lost my phone she followed us to help..... it just goes to show how good the staff is to make you feel welcome...... this place is a must if you have kids and want a lovely day out..... well done oakfield and staff..... as we were leaving there was 3 coach's landed.... the place was so busy it had such a Christmas buzz about it..... on the way home my 7yr old asked can we go back next year.... yes we will.... you can spend hrs here and give yourself loads of time before and after train ride..... once again well done oakfield.....

Cavanmann Avatar
Cavanmann
5 star rating
14/12/2019 - TripAdvisor

Santa visit 2019 We send back again last night to this Santa express we had a real great time with kids we went to Rath wood last year which was very good too and have to say the Oakfield park is best Santa experience

Kids want to go back again I think thatโ€™s says it all ,we spent nearly 4 hours there so enjoyable

Michelle Duffy Avatar
Michelle Duffy
13/12/2019 - Facebook

What a fantastic experience at the polar express, the place was fab and the elves were just brilliant, we enjoyed everything about our evening, can definitely recommend this place

Catherina McMullen Avatar
Catherina McMullen
12/12/2019 - Facebook

Had an amazing time at santa experience this evening thank you oakfield park for being so understanding and accommodating when we turned up a week late for our booking!! ๐Ÿ™ˆ it was very much appreciated ๐ŸŽ…

Annmarie Martin Avatar
Annmarie Martin
12/12/2019 - Facebook

Great Santa experience at a special time of year.

Michelle Hogg Avatar
Michelle Hogg
08/12/2019 - Facebook

What a fantastic day. I cannot rate the Santa days highly enough. Staff were fabulous. Enthusiastic, great with kids. So many well thought out activities for every age range. The food was devine and we left with 2 very very happy children. Thank you.

Laura Doogan Avatar
Laura Doogan
08/12/2019 - Facebook

We had the most amazing time at the Christmas experience! From when we arrived till we left- was just fantastic! My niece and nephew were just amazed and their faces were lit up with smiles the whole time! Thank you so much to everyone ๐Ÿ˜Š

Elaine Munnelly Avatar
Elaine Munnelly
08/12/2019 - Facebook

Our little girl really enjoyed Santa Express. The Elves and Santa were great and whole park experience was fantastic. great job.

Tanya Diver Avatar
Tanya Diver
07/12/2019 - Facebook

We where at The Santa Express and could not fault it, adults and kids alike loved it. Magical experience and very friendly, helpful staff. Well done everyone

Rina du Plessis Avatar
Rina du Plessis
06/12/2019 - Facebook

last night we went to see Santa at oakfield park and what a wonderful experience we had! it truly felt magical! and was an enjoyable evening for young and old!!

Kate Walls Avatar
Kate Walls
04/12/2019 - Facebook

Santa express train. Magical experience for kids and adults. X

Julie McPherson Pollock Avatar
Julie McPherson Pollock
01/12/2019 - Facebook

Absolutely magical trip on the Santa Express tonight and a lovely meal in Buffers after. Would highly recommend it!

Daron Lfc Mcfarlane Avatar
Daron Lfc Mcfarlane
03/11/2019 - Facebook

had a brilliant night well worth the trip

Patricia Bermingham Avatar
Patricia Bermingham
30/09/2019 - Facebook

This is such a beautiful place stunning gardens, the train spin is fab around the gardens, lovely day out for anyone well worth a visit. The staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. l would be very happy to give this lovely place a 5 star as its spotlessly clean and well looked after. l would like to thank Damien for his help and all the staff that work here.

Teresa Hoey Avatar
Teresa Hoey
29/09/2019 - Facebook

We had an amazing afternoon at Oakfield Park today the staff were so nice especially Maeve ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿป she never stopped playing with our girls from the moment we landed. The food was delicious and all reasonably priced. The train ride was class we will definitely be back. A great family day out โญ๏ธโญ๏ธโญ๏ธโญ๏ธโญ๏ธ

Henry David Allum Avatar
Henry David Allum
24/09/2019 - Facebook

As part of my plan to visit every miniature railway in the British Isles I'll be including the Difflin Lake Railway!

Leanne Browne Avatar
Leanne Browne
20/09/2019 - Facebook

Amazing walks and my children loves the train rides x

Henry McCrea Avatar
Henry McCrea
01/09/2019 - Facebook

Had never been before and it was brilliant. Very tidy and well run with a lovely cafe with great food. Would love to return in the autumn when the trees turn but donโ€™t think is open which is a pity

Kenny McCain Avatar
Kenny McCain
26/08/2019 - Facebook

great fun for the kids. fantastic scenery for the adults. very helpful staff. a lovely meal. can't really ask for more

Karen Gallinagh Murphy Avatar
Karen Gallinagh Murphy
25/08/2019 - Facebook

Return visit to Oakfield Park and Buffers Restaurant last night! Scrumptious... delicious... just top class... and the service was superb! Top Tier of the Cake, in staff choice. They were ALL outstanding. Brilliant evening. thank you K