John Grealish Avatar
John Grealish
04/05/2022 - Google

A jewel. If you expect to visit more than 3 times in the season, it would be a good idea to get a seasonal pass, as the admission price is quite high

laxurus Avatar
laxurus
5 star rating
04/05/2022 - TripAdvisor

Lovely place to visit for families and also for solo visitors I had visited once before with adult and children family members. That visit was enjoyable. The children liked the maze, the wishing tree and the train. Today I went by myself. I had a lovely walk through the well maintained park. I enjoyed a snack in Buffers served by a very friendly staff member. Oakfield Park is a tranquil and pleasant place to visit

Rodney Johnston Avatar
Rodney Johnston
24/04/2022 - Google

Great day out for young and old alike, Very well maintained.

John Guerin Avatar
John Guerin
23/04/2022 - Google

Visited yesterday ... Cost 45 euro for family ticket but well worth it to visit such a beautiful place! We all loved the train and the walk around the park

leanne mccarron Avatar
leanne mccarron
22/04/2022 - Google

My daughter and my son was there over Easter holidays. They made sure there was loads to do . We will be back again for summer ☀️ fantastic place

suraj gupta Avatar
suraj gupta
16/04/2022 - Google

A very good place to visit with family and friends. My kid really enjoyed it today. Easter egg hunt was a great experience.

PatC875 Avatar
PatC875
5 star rating
02/04/2022 - TripAdvisor

Oakfield Park is stunning A wonderful place. Buffers restaurant is unique and staff are great. My favourite place to visit
Pat

Eileen Harkin Avatar
Eileen Harkin
30/12/2021 - Google

Brilliant time from start to finish. Could not have asked for more. Kids & ourselves had a magical experience

kiwi8911 Avatar
kiwi8911
5 star rating
15/12/2021 - TripAdvisor

Santa Express If your looking for a magical winter wonderland full of festive cheer and spirits, I would highly recommend Oakfield Parks Santa Express! Despite my son having a tough year with the pandemic restrictions etc (like many other families) We all felt a great escape down at Oakfield Park. My son especially loved the puppet show, but there was so much more.. the light display to the train ride the activities the gardens! Let’s not forget meeting the lovely Santa himself and his team of bubbly elves who couldn’t be more fourth coming and inviting, cracking jokes and bringing the place to life! We ended our evening with some delightful waffles and ice cream, mulled wine and my partner had some lovely coffee. 5 star experience. We’ll definitely be marking this one in the calendar, our very own new Christmas t

Anna McBride Avatar
Anna McBride
05/12/2021 - Google

We went to the Santa Express Christmas experience. Beautiful set up, well run and the staff were so enthusiastic throughout the park. A great festive atmosphere and the kids loved it. Cant wait to return in the summer to explore the beautiful grounds.

Angie Keane Avatar
Angie Keane
09/10/2021 - Google

Lovely gardens to walk around. The 4km train was great way to see the grounds. Food very good. Would be great place to bring kids

Ruth Avatar
Ruth
5 star rating
06/10/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great fun Harry Potter Experience. Thoroughly enjoyable. Friendly staff. Child friendly. Dog friendly. Lov

Bryan F Avatar
Bryan F
5 star rating
04/10/2021 - TripAdvisor

Harry Potter Experience I brought 3 10 year old Harry Potter fans to the Harry Potter experience and they had a really g

mary08t Avatar
mary08t
5 star rating
03/10/2021 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful Oakfield We visited yesterday 4 generations 5 to 69 years old. The Harry Potter themed visit was amazing for the 13,10 and 5years olds and I must say the adults enjoyed it just as much. Early rain cleared and aftermoon autumnal sunshine allowed us to walk all of the beautiful grounds and take the train ride. We all had fun with the games and the questions and answers. Overall a great experience for everyone and the coffee was great. Highly recommend we will

Alicja Urbas Avatar
Alicja Urbas
19/09/2021 - Google

A great place for families' trips. Nice walking paths. Places to sit and relax. And a good cafeteria with a yummy food, teas and coffee.
We go there every year.

John M Avatar
John M
5 star rating
18/09/2021 - TripAdvisor

Brilliant day out! Overall a great experience from start to finish. The tour of the upper garden was outstanding and the tour guide Bronwyn made it an even better experience leaving no stone unturned throughout and was very attentive. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend checking this place out, it's a real hidden gem worth

Carmel F Avatar
Carmel F
5 star rating
13/09/2021 - TripAdvisor

Lovely day out at Oakfield Park Myself and my husband went to Oakfield Park a lovely day was had. Highly recommend the guided tour, tour guide Bromlyn was fantastic great detail of plants and history the place.we would to back again with grandchildren great place for kids with the train ride and fairy wish tree. Lovely cafe also there with gifts. Recommend for a fun family

Georgina P Avatar
Georgina P
5 star rating
13/09/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great afternoon spent We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Oakfield Park despite showers.It’s a beautiful estate and railway with beautifully restored and manicured gardens .
We thoroughly enjoyed the guided tour of the upper gardens.Bromwin was our tour guide.She has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the history of the house and gardens.She’s friendly and clear speaking to the tour.She pointed out the various plants and mature trees and beehives walled gardens kitchen garden badgers hole ,ancient working water pump from 1800’s still functioning.Above all she’s tells with a great respect of the positive ethos of the Robinson family ,their love of nature ,art ,railways ,steam engine among many other interests.
There is a lovely restaurant called Buffers with a nice menu.Families may bring picnics and eat outside on the lovely benches and tables .
I’d highly recommend a visit to Oakfield.Beware the guided tour is only at the weekend though.
There’s plenty to see in the lower gardens too and no tour guide necessary any day of

lee Avatar
lee
5 star rating
28/08/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great family day out Absolutely brilliant, staff were brilliant and the grounds are absolutely stunning. Would highly

Elizabeth B Avatar
Elizabeth B
5 star rating
19/08/2021 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful day Beautiful grounds, spent 4 hours here with my 9 month old
Lovely walk around the sites, nice picnic area and he reallt enjoyed the t

Doug Hobbs Avatar
Doug Hobbs
15/08/2021 - Google

Great day out. Will definitely be back and will give more time next time. So much to see and do.

brendan reilly Avatar
brendan reilly
05/08/2021 - Google

We had a great time here, even the rain couldn't dampen our enjoyment. My kids loved the train ride and the kids park and we had great fun in the maze. The food in Buffers was delicious. All of the staff were so nice and helpful. I would 100% recommend.

Karen O Farrell Avatar
Karen O Farrell
08/07/2021 - Google

Amazing day at oakfield Park, even in bad weather it was still a fab day. Can't wait to go back.

Ciara N Avatar
Ciara N
02/07/2021 - Google

Great place for young and old! Really well kept

Diane Maguire Avatar
Diane Maguire
10/06/2021 - Google

Brilliant spot for a day out,with plenty of room for everyone to social distance 😀

Rob N Avatar
Rob N
16/05/2021 - Google

Welcoming staff and well preserved grounds. There are plenty of signs around the place and plenty to do to fill out a day. Nice cafe and restaurant/shop

Patrick Mellon Avatar
Patrick Mellon
09/05/2021 - Google

The online shop was amazing. I ordered a cheese board for our 5year anniversary. They rang and said it wouldn't reach us in time but a member of staff will delivered to my door. Service was next to none

Ivan o'mahony Avatar
Ivan o'mahony
03/05/2021 - Google

Great experience for families. The train and maze were a big hit

Michelle Long Avatar
Michelle Long
02/05/2021 - Google

Great for a day out with friends or family and kids.
Lots of paths to walk playground for kids and a lovely menu at buffers for food aswel

808jacquiem Avatar
808jacquiem
5 star rating
30/04/2021 - TripAdvisor

Relaxing family friendly fun day out. As always fantastic day out absolutely love coming here its our favourite family day out. From the beautiful food in Buffers restaurant to lovely walks and then an adventure in the maze and to finish it of a train ride on Thomas.

mark chambers Avatar
mark chambers
24/12/2020 - Google

Great night away for the kids... the little train journey around the grounds in the darkness, and illuminations everywhere was brilliant

SarahApple17 Avatar
SarahApple17
5 star rating
22/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa Express By FAR the best Santa experience we have visited. Every part is so well planned and feels so professional. From the train to the grotto to the outdoor entertainment and puppet show. My sons loved every bit of it. We ate at the restaurant and the food was so easy to order and quick. All round a 5* experience.

Oonzy Avatar
Oonzy
5 star rating
17/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa Express 2020 I visited the Santa Express on 12/12/2021 with my Mum and my 4 yo son and I could not rate this experience highly enough.

My son had the best time and he was so excited to meet santa for the first year he wasnt afraid. The Photos turned out beautiful and he loved his present. The sights and decorations all along the train ride were brilliant and had so much to look at on our journey. The elves were absolutely brilliant and so upbeat and happy despite the cold.

They had measures in place for social distancing and individual compartments in the train etc so felt at ease. They had elves cleaning constantly in all areas.

Unfortunately my mum had a bad fall down some steps and the staff at Oakfield park were excellent. They helped my mum up and escorted her back to the train whilst the elves entertained my son so he wasn't scared. They took every precaution to make sure she wasn't injured and checked her over in their medical room.

Although this threatened to ruin our night the staff were so kind and friendly and I was put at ease that my mum was okay and that the experience wasnt tainted for my son as we had looked forward to it so much.

Defo put me in the christmas spirit

Thanks Oakfield Park

RoseMMoore Avatar
RoseMMoore
5 star rating
15/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Santa express What an experience!!! Having never been to Oakfield Park before, I was a little apprehensive considering we're in the throws of a pandemic! However my worries soon disappeared. Strict covid guidelines were in place right from entry point e.g. temp checks, face masks, social distancing, cleaning in progress throughout. It really was a magical experience, not just for my granddaughter but for all the family. From Mrs. Clause who was an absolute gem with her two little puppet buddies, the elves who were fabulous, friendly and full of energy, the train ride with all the beautiful lights and lots to see along the way, Santa's grotto was beautiful and kids got to play games with the elves, while maintaining social distancing. I could go on and on really. I look forward to going back next year again but will certainly visit these beautiful grounds throughout the year.
Huge congrats to all involved for putting a wonderful experience together in a year where it would have been easier to keep the doors closed. Oakfield Park is a real treasure.

James B Avatar
James B
5 star rating
14/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Exceptional Santa Express Experience 2020 The Santa Express is absolutely fantastic this year (2020). My family and I attend the Santa express every year, and I must say this year was the best to date. All of the staff at Oakfield park have completely outdone themselves. They were exceptional, especially considering the struggles and challenges everyone is facing this year. We arrived two hours before our train was due to depart. We all had our temperature checked before being granted entry to the park, this gave us all peace of mind. We then enjoyed a delicious complementary hot chocolate, followed by an amazing meal in Buffers restaurant. We then went in and met Mrs. Claus, who did some stand up comedy for us and spent quite a while talking to our daughter. She was fabulous and made our little girl feel very special. She then introduced us to her friends Peagreen and Omelette. ( Puppet show). The puppet show was hilarious. I could easily tell that a lot of work has gone into this routine. We then went to the train station to catch our train to Santa's grotto. There we met three of the most joyful/energetic Elves (Choo Choo, Peeps and Hero) who delivered Elf and safety to us before showing us to our carriage and entertained us as we were waiting to depart. The Elves at the grotto kept us very entertained until we met Santa. The elves were extremely interactive while maintaining social distancing regulations. Santa was extremely happy to meet our daughter again and have a talk with her from a safe distance. The photographers then took some amazing professional photos for us which we received in a beautiful Oakfield Park mount. The photographer himself was wonderful and a true asset to the team. We could have spent hours just playing with the Elves on location and there were some excellent games set out at a safe social distance for us to play among our family at the grotto too. It is important to note that the whole event maintained excellent Covid-19 regulations, in such a way that we were able to put it all to the back of our minds and just enjoy the event. We then caught the train back to the train station which was beautiful. The lights were truly spectacular and all of the installations along the way such as Mrs. Claus's washing line, a gingerbread house and Extensive Whoville and Grinch installation were all exceptional and a really nice touch to the already picturesque journey. We took part in the reindeer games to end off our night which were very well laid out and a lot of fun for the whole family. By far the best experience yet at Oakfield Park. Compliments and a huge thank you to Management/head Elves, Mr. and Mrs. Clause, the Elves, Pea Green and Omelette, Buffers Staff and all of the other people involved this year. You have all come together and created a special Christmas experience . You should all be very proud. Thank you. James

Angela Smith Avatar
Angela Smith
10/12/2020 - Google

Amazing Christmas experience...kids loved it!

anto reilly Avatar
anto reilly
08/12/2020 - Google

lovely place great train. deadly santa .staff are so nice .love the place ❤

7cohara Avatar
7cohara
06/12/2020 - Google

Wonderful family day out and every effort had been made to make the day as safe as possible for all involved. Would highly recommend!

PCampDonegal Avatar
PCampDonegal
5 star rating
04/12/2020 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful place We brought our 6 and 7 year old to Oakfield park to see santa and it was a fantastic experience for all of us. From the decorations to the energetic elves playing games with the kids to the breathtaking train ride and although we had a social distance visit with santa in a mask it didn't dissapoint. Delicious food from the Buffer restaurant afterwards, takeaway only but outdoor heated area provided with a puppetshow from Mrs Claus. Bitter cold so wrap up well and enjoy.

Mariana McCool Avatar
Mariana McCool
23/09/2020 - Google

We got a beautiful day with the weather and this added to a lovely afternoon spent at Oakfield Park. Took the train and ate at Buffers which was very nice. I also took some nice pictures

2020vision Avatar
2020vision
5 star rating
02/09/2020 - TripAdvisor

Superb!! We loved this place , it is absolutely beautiful !
There's so much to see and lots of walks to enjoy .
You could very easily spend an entire day here and not be at all bored .
Lunch at Buffers was very tasty and much enjoyed , all Covid restrictions were very obviously being adhered to .
We thoroughly enjoyed our entire visit and shall most definitely return .

Norma Laird McConnell Avatar
Norma Laird McConnell
31/08/2020 - Facebook

still finding paths we havent been on, a fabulous adventure everytime for the family

Tracy Murphy Wilson Avatar
Tracy Murphy Wilson
31/08/2020 - Facebook

Beautiful family day out and a massive thank you to your very kind staff member who worked beside the trains for offering our saint bernard water through out the day, this simple but wonder gesture really was very much appreciated thank you.

Christopher Milligan Avatar
Christopher Milligan
25/08/2020 - Google

Really enjoyed our trip here, the narrow gauge railway was fantastic and the kids really loved it. The walks through the gardens and grounds were brilliant and really helped time slip by. You have to go to Buffers and try their brownies, they were AWESOME!

Sultan Khan Avatar
Sultan Khan
20/08/2020 - Google

Great for the kids. Wonderful open spaces. The playground by the entrance proved to be very popular but the train was the best part of the day. Short but ideal for young children and it allowed us to decide where to go next. The sculptures were big enough for the kids to play around and chase one another. Overall a great day out.

betsey1977 Avatar
betsey1977
5 star rating
18/08/2020 - TripAdvisor

Magical experience! We visited last week and have to say, what a gem! This place is beautiful and already have plans to revisit! From the train ride, to the relaxing walk around the beautiful gardens...everything made it the most perfect day! The kids really enjoyed the train and the adults too, taking in the breathtaking scenery of the castle and the lake, complete with swans! We had a little wait on our train, due to the staff sanitising the carriages following each trip around. We felt very safe in the grounds, as the 2 metre distance was adhered to very well, marked eloquently in places with beautiful flower pots. The kids really enjoyed the playground and the maze...it was amazing (excuse the pun!). We finished off our visit with a visit to Buffers, the on-site cafe/restaurant, which has an abundance of treats...and the burger was just delicious! This park is a credit to both management and staff. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly here. We would highly recommend Oakfield Park for a fun-filled day out. The only negative was that we had to leave!

Bryan Morgan Avatar
Bryan Morgan
12/08/2020 - Google

Genuinely one of THE BEST family orientated days out! Loved it. Easily worth every penny... And it's not even that expensive. Can't recommended it highly enough

Selena Mc Kay Avatar
Selena Mc Kay
09/08/2020 - Facebook

We went here with our family for our first day out since the pandemic and we had the best day young and old enjoyed it and Charles on the gateway in was such a pleasant and friendly fella and he was a great help and all the staff were very polite inside the park aswell great place we will be back 😊

Dan Sheerin Avatar
Dan Sheerin
07/08/2020 - Google

The best day out our pets ever had. They loved the train journey. It had great facilities for families with young children. All of the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Definitely going back soon.

Tom Egan Avatar
Tom Egan
31/07/2020 - Google

Really lovely place to visit. Beautiful walks, very well kept, plenty to enjoy for a full day outing. Everyone there is very friendly and keen for the visitors to enjoy themselves. Was well impressed by the deep clean of the train between runs. The food in the Buffer restaurant was excellent and staff were really good. Definitely worth a visit but plan to be there for the day to get the most out of it.

IRISHHOMEBIRD Avatar
IRISHHOMEBIRD
5 star rating
30/07/2020 - TripAdvisor

Love visiting here..... The whole day was just lovely and relaxing..all of the staff from the gardeners in the top garden, the catering staff, to the train driver were just lovely and pleasant..its always well looked after and spotless...I've been before and really love it...had family from England with us this time...they thoroughly enjoyed it too...keep up the good work!! #staycation#Ireland

Diarmaid Ó Avatar
Diarmaid Ó
5 star rating
20/07/2020 - TripAdvisor

Great place for a day out. Top class. Great day out. From the girl in the ticket booth to the staff in the restaurant and at the train they were all excellent. Just as they should be - friendly, bright and cheery. The place was lovely - immaculately kept and lovely to walk round. The train ride was fun and the maze was good craic. The food was good too and not unreasonable. The walled garden was beautiful. The only small criticism I would make was the the music being played in the restaurant area was too loud and not in keeping with the atmosphere of the place. Turn it down and change it to traditional Irish or classical. But apart from that I’d give Oatfield top marks.

Michelle Doherty-Haughey Avatar
Michelle Doherty-Haughey
06/07/2020 - Facebook

we had an absolutely fantastic day here today at Oakfield park the grounds are fantastic and there is plenty to do. will definitely be back, we also had a lovely lunch.

Donna Nelson Avatar
Donna Nelson
06/07/2020 - Facebook

Oakfield Park is beautiful with lots to explore. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made the visit more personable. Our boys (10, 7, 5) loved running around discovering, the train ride and the play park. It can often be difficult to find places to keep the children entertained but we spent 5 hours - exploring, playing, eating and exploring some more. The food at the Buffers Cafe was delicious. Look forward to returning as we decided to buy a season pass after our visit.

Catriona Mccausland Avatar
Catriona Mccausland
29/06/2020 - Facebook

We spent a very rainy day here just after lockdown and enjoyed every minute. Would recommended can’t wait till the sun shines so we can get back to complete the grounds walk. Food was excellent to.

Catherine Gallagher Avatar
Catherine Gallagher
19/06/2020 - Google

A beautiful, well-maintained park with lots of facilities and activities. The staff are so helpful and kind. I don't normally write reviews but this place is just so lovely and I would like to managers to know what a great job everyone who works here is doing!! Thanks a million for a great day!!

Michelle Cleal Avatar
Michelle Cleal
14/06/2020 - Facebook

we went here today for the first time. it has been our first proper family outing since our son was born and it was amazing we loved every second of it and yous had great social distancing measures in place without ruining the fell of the place. we cant wait to come back

Sylvia C Avatar
Sylvia C
5 star rating
15/02/2020 - TripAdvisor

Exceptional Valentines Dinner We went to Buffers last night for their Special Valentines Dinner. The food was exceptional. So lovely to have local produce prepared and served in a way that enhanced its flavour and goodness. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a nice relaxed evening with just the right amount of time between courses. Thank you Joseph and team. It was a really lovely evening. The best meal we have had in a long time. We look forward to more of these nights in the future

Fíona Ni Thiarnan Avatar
Fíona Ni Thiarnan
25/12/2019 - Facebook

Fabulous place and staff, especially the elves, magical!

Claire Devine Avatar
Claire Devine
23/12/2019 - Facebook

We had such a fabulous time on Friday night. It was a magical experience for our 4 year old, she was just amazed. A big shout out to the elves who work so hard to make it so enjoyable for the children. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We will be back next year. 🎄🎁🎅🏻